The mission of UDA is to:

Strengthen and support all appropriate governmental and private enterprises in their accomplishments of national defense objectives

Expand investment and employment opportunities in defense and aerospace related industries


Support Utah military missions, workload, and force structure while developing innovative projects for the future

Strengthen the defense industry as a prime economic development engine in Utah

Expand Utah’s aerospace industry

Promote the availability of a highly skilled workforce to support the defense/aerospace industry

Engage local, state, and national political, DOD, and business leaders on defense/aerospace issues

See a list of Utah military installations here.


Utah Defense Alliance Officers

Tage FlintPresident/CEO
Steve RushVice President
Gary HarterVice President
Mike BouwhuisTreasurer

Utah Defense Alliance Executive Committee

Tage Flint President/CEO
Kevin Sullivan Executive Director/COO
Steve Rush Vice President
Gary Harter Vice President
Mike Bouwhuis Treasurer
Peter Jenks Past President
Vickie McCall Past President
Jerry Stevenson Past President
Stephen P. (Pat) CondonEx-Officio

Utah Defense Alliance Board

Tage Flint President/CEOWeber Basin Water Conservancy District
Steve Rush Vice PresidentRocky Mountain Power
Mike Bouwhuis TreasurerDavis Applied Technology College
Kevin Sullivan Executive Director/COOUSAF-Retired/Aerospace Consultant
Peter Jenks Past PresidentCongressman Bishop’s Office
Vickie McCall Past PresidentUtah Executive Real Estate
Gary Harter Vice PresidentGovernor’s Office of Economic Development
Jerry Stevenson Past PresidentUtah State Senator
Stephen P. (Pat) Condon Ex-OfficioUSAF-Retired/Senator Mike Lee’s Office
Brad Dee Ex-OfficioUtah State Representative
Kerry Gibson Ex-OfficioWeber County Commissioner
Bob Stevenson Ex-OfficioLayton City Mayor
Mark Shepherd Ex-OfficioClearfield City Mayor
Steve Hiatt Ex-OfficioKaysville City Mayor
Shawn Milne Ex-OfficioTooele County Commissioner
Randy Elliot Ex-OfficioDavis County Commission
Brian Garrett Elected DirectorZions Bank
Hugo Horstman Elected DirectorSouthwest Airlines
Mike Jensen Elected DirectorIasis Healthcare
Randy Tymofichuk Elected DirectorBAE Systems
Weston Saunders Elected DirectorSaunders Outdoor Advertising
Charles Wight Elected DirectorWeber State University
Jim Sutton Elected DirectorNorthrup-Grumman
Ron Richins Elected DirectorActing MIDA Executive Director
Rick Hartle Elected Director
Ben Hart Elected DirectorGovernor’s Office of Economic Development

Governmental Advisers and Support

Nathan JacksonSenator Hatch’s Office
Ryan WilcoxSenator Mike Lee’s Office
Stephen P. (Pat) CondonSenator Mike Lee’s Office
Dell SmithCongressman Chris Stewart’s Office
Adam ShippeeCongressman Chris Stewart’s Office
Peter JenksCongressman Bishop’s Office
Joshua EmfieldCongressman Jason Chaffetz’s Office
Edwin (Ted) Frederick State of Utah Veterans and Military Affairs

Utah Defense Alliance Staff And Support Personnel

Ron Richins Acting MIDA Executive Director
Paul Morris Legal Counsel
John Peterson CPA-Financial Consultant